Sunday, 11 November 2012


If you would like to get in touch with Mark and Debbie Griffiths, post a message below.

The Shakespeare Birthplace Trust has supporters all over the world, from the American Friends of Shakespeare Birthplace Trust to the Shakespeare Institute in Shanghai, China.

It’s important that, whatever your interest in saving Shottery, you contact the relevant people. Here’s a list to get you going. Many of the contacts are Twitter – we think it’s one of the quickest and most effective channels to reach people.

Contact the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust directly:

Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, Shakespeare Centre, Henley Street, Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire CV37 6QW +44 (0) 1789 204016.     Twitter:  @ShakespeareBT                                          Facebook:                                                                                   

Diana Owen, Director, Shakespeare Birthplace Trust  Twitter: @DianaJOwen   Email:

Stanley Wells, Honorary President of Shakespeare Birthplace Trust   Twitter: @stanley_wells

Delia Garratt, Head of Collections and Interpretation, Shakespeare Birthplace Trust  Twitter: @DeliaGarratt   Email:

Paul Edmondson, Head of Research and Knowledge, Shakespeare BT  Twitter:

Lynn Beddoe, PR Manager, Direct Line 01789 207134, Mobile: 07887 661770

Bennet Carr, Trustee, Headmaster of King Edward VI School, Stratford upon Avon  Twitter:  @KES_Headmaster

Catherine Mallyon, Trustee and Executive Director, Royal Shakespeare Company   Twitter:  @c_mallyon

Neville Beamer, Trustee and Conservative Stratford District Councillor

Ron Cockings, Trustee and Warwickshire County Councillor
Contact SBT’s partner organisations:


In the UK, please be sure to let the following organisations that fund SBT know what you feel about this proposed development:

Arts and Humanities Research Council, Polaris House, North Star Avenue, Swindon SN2 1FL              Twitter:  @ahrcpress

Aurelius Charitable Trust, Briarsmead, Old Road, Buckland, Betchworth, Surrey RH3 7DU                               

The John S Cohen Foundation, Ms Diana Barbara Helme, PO Box 21277, London W9 2YH:                       Tel: 020 7286 6921           Fax: 020 7286 7841

The Gatsby Charitable Trust, Peter Hesketh, Director, The Peak, 5 Wilton Road, London, SW1V 1AP. Tel:  020 7410 0330 | Fax: 020 7410 0332

The Oakley Charitable Trust, Geoffrey M W Oakley,  10 St Mary’s Road, Harborne, Birmingham B17 0HA     Tel: 0121 427 7150

The Owen Family Trust, Alfred David Owen OBE,  Rubery Owen Holdings Ltd, PO Box 10, Wednesbury WS10 8JD     Tel: 0121 526 3131

The Shakespeare Institute, Michael Dobson, Director, Mason Croft, Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire CV37 6HP   NB: Michael Dobson is also a SB Trustee on the Exec Committee           Tel:  0121 414 9500    Fax: 01789 414 992     Twitter:  @ShakesInstitute Email:


American Friends of Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, John Chwat, President, 625 Slaters Lane, Suite 103, Alexandria, VA 22314    Telephone: (703) 684-7703     Fax: (703) 684-7594  Web:

Besides promoting, encouraging and fostering understanding and appreciation by the American public of the plays and poetry of William Shakespeare, American Friends’ goals and objectives are to support the preservation of the Shakespeare houses and educational programs of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust.

If you live in the USA, be sure to let American Friends know of the threat to the peace and tranquillity of the Anne Hathaway’s Cottage setting.

Alternatively, contact the Shakespeare Guild:

Shakespeare Guild,  John F. Andrews, President, The Shakespeare Guild, 5B Calle San Martin, Santa Fe, NM 87506-7536, USA.  Phone (505) 988-9560     Email: Web:


Shakespeare Institute, Shanghai.  Professor Yang Lingui, College of Foreign Languages, College Building No.1, Donghua University, No.2999, North Renmin Road, Songjiang District, Shanghai, China.   Tel: 86-21- 67792446     Fax: 86-21-67792446

Other Shakespeare organisations

Shakespeare’s Globe      Twitter: @The_Globe

The Royal Shakespeare Company     Twitter: @TheRSC  or   @RSCPress

Shakespeare Institute     Twitter: @ShakesInstitute

Shakespeare Stratford       Twitter: @StratfordPoet

Shakespeare Society      Twitter: @shakespearenyc



Stratford Herald     Twitter: @HeraldNewspaper

Stratford Observer    Twitter: @strat_observer

Warwickshire Life magazine     Twitter:  @warkslife

Country Life      Twitter: @Countrylifemag

Warwickshire News      Twitter: @Warwick_News

Birmingham Mail      Twitter: @birminghammail

BBC Coventry and Warwickshire       Twitter: @BBCCovWarks

The Guardian   Twitter: @guardian  or @GuardianSustBiz  or @SocietyGuardian  or @lyngardner (theatre critic)


Heritage and Environment organisations

English Heritage     Twitter: @EnglishHeritage

Simon Thurley, Chief Executive, English Heritage   Twitter: @EHSimonThurley

Heritage Britain    Twitter: @HeritageBritain

The Prince’s Trust   Twitter: @PrincesTrust

Save Britain’s Heritage     Twitter: @SAVEBrit

Cotswolds AONB      Twitter: @CotswoldsAONB

CPRE      Twitter: @CPRE

Historic Towns Forum      Twitter: @HTF_

The Institute of Historic Building Conservation     Twitter: @IHBCtweet

The Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings      Twitter: @SPAB1877

Collections Trust       Twitter:  @CollectionTrust

Museums, Libraries and Archives Council     Twitter: @MLA_gov

Heritage Alliance         Twitter: @Heritage_NGOs

Environment Agency Midlands       Twitter: @EnvAgencyMids


Tourism organisations

Visit England      Twitter: @VisitEngland

Visit Stratford Team      Twitter: @VisitStratford


Arts and Culture organisations

Arts Council England        Twitter: @ace_national

Arts Council England West Midlands        Twitter: @ace_westmids

LiveWorkMidlandHeart        Twitter: @LiveWorkMHeart

Culture 24       Twitter: @Culture24

Stratford upon Avon      Twitter: @tweet_stratford

National Theatre     Twitter: @NationalTheatre

Local politicians

Nadhim Zahawi , Stratford upon Avon MP     Email:             Twitter: @nadhimzahawi

Stratford-on-Avon District Council, Elizabeth House, Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon,
Warwickshire CV37 6HX  Tel:01789 267 575  Fax: 01789 260 007   
Twitter: @StratfordDC                           
SDC Leader, Councillor Chris Saint    Email:

Jenny Fradgeley, Liberal Democrat Councillo


No comments:

Post a Comment